North Shore High School Art Honors

29 HS Students Inducted into the National Art Honor Society

On Tuesday, November 28th, 2017, we celebrated the induction of 29 members into North Shore High School’s National Art Honor Society. The National Art Honor Society was started in 1978 by the National Art Education Association. Its purpose is to recognize students who demonstrate outstanding ability and interest in the visual arts. Members are committed to making the visual arts more visible in their school and community. Lynn Johnson and Elissa Mazzeo are co-advisors of the NAHS.  

 “The students who were inducted into the National Art Honor Society have demonstrated their commitment and dedication to the arts through the completion of Studio Art as well as one upper level art class with a grade of 90 or above,” said Art Teacher, Elissa Mazzeo. “They are currently enrolled in at least one additional art class.”

Mrs. Mazzeo added, “This incredible group of students exhibit a desire to develop and challenge themselves through creating and learning about the visual arts. They will help bring their passion and commitment to the visual arts outside of the high school by becoming involved in arts-related service projects throughout the district and in the local community. We are so excited to see what these students are able to create when they combine all of their artistic energy and vision together!” 

Guest Speaker, JoAnne Gray, a local artist and former North Shore art teacher, inspired the students with her words and her art. She spoke of the importance of art and how her life has inspired her artistic process as well as her art work. 
Our new NSHS National Art Honor Society Members include Evelyn Acuna, Emilie Biolsi, Kaylin Burger, Milagros Buschfrers, Juliana DiFeo, Maya Farrally-Plourde, Jessica Giordano, Lindsey Golden, Katherine Hagen, Alyssa Hartmann, Ani Iashvili, Zenovia Kontorouhas, Mahek Malhotra, Lilly Martorana, Daniel Minsky, Katherine Morales, Katrina Mortko, Kira Potapov, Christopher Rasizzi, Noa Ribeiro Alonso, Emma Rae Rivera, Madelaine Rojas, Caelan Schoenhofen, Susannah Smith, Isabella Strajanekova, Olivia Vizza, Alexa Waiksnis, Violet White, and Lauren Yacovone. 

Article by Shelly Newman
Photos by Adrienne Daley

North Shore Schools 112 Franklin Avenue Sea Cliff, NY 11579 District Number 516-277-7800
All Rights Reserved 2000-2018