100 North Shore School District Musicians Selected   

Congratulations North Shore All-County and All-State Musicians

The North Shore School District is proud to announce that 94 student-musicians participated in the Nassau Music Educators Association All-County Festivals and six participated in the All-State Music Festival this January 2018. “We are very proud of our aspiring musicians, who through their commitment in developing their musicianship, were accepted to participate in these prestigious festivals.” 

music students dressed in all black

Participants in grades 5-12 joined student-musicians from across Nassau County for concerts featuring select chorus, orchestra, band and jazz ensemble performances. Each year, students are chosen for these elite ensembles based primarily on their performance scores at the New York State School Music Association Solo Evaluation Festival and teacher recommendations. Each of the concerts take place at the Tilles Center for the Performing Arts on Long Island.

Congratulations to the following North Shore All-County musicians on their musical achievements: Benito DiGiuseppe, Darren Freidlin, Maria Patetsios, Violet Frangopoulos, Julianna Gaeta, Samantha Glatt, Paul Panagos, Sylvie Ward, Mailynn Betanco, Connor Finnegan, Erica Jud, Olivia Bellocco, Ava Gibstein, Falyn Juettner, Gianna Laino, Alec Baghdassarian, Jasmin Ko, Alison Friedman, Seamus Hughes, Aaryan Vira, Eliana Gonzalez-Levi, Ginger Sanborn, Wyatt Snyder, Caroline Winchester, Kenneth Hom, Jordan Lillis, Grace Ryan, Charles Cerrito, Roberto Laskaris, Melissa Palmetto, Catherine Fradelos, Veronica Frank, Maiko Giannakis, Sofia Macrigiane, Grace Miller, Ella O'Hara, Juliette Renaldo, Katherine Salerno, Henry Spina, Emery Viscovich, Caralina Volz, Ava Winter, Josef Winter, Matthew Ryan, Noah Lee, Nathaniel Brower, Kathryn Ditrano, Stephen Eder, Hannah Ikawa, Michael McMahon, John Pourakis, Ruben Shonik, Jason Basile, Natalie Gaeta, Genesis Geismar, Christopher Goslin, Loretta Nester, Faith Oakes, Mackenzie Olitsky, Madelyn Samtani, Isabel Segal, Dylan Roth, Mark Hom, Eileen Zhao, Richard Perez, Keegan Brown, Peter Cerrito, Nicholas Ditrano, Dylan Nerud, Colin Oswald, Fiona Shonik, Kyle Wolf, Cayden Bobley, Michael Heffernan, Julia Morrissey, Olivia Nester, Hannah Schoen, Ethan Snyder, Irene Zachariadis, Andrew McLellan, Emma Sorensen, Eric Yadoo, Mairead Colby, Hannah Crabb, Zoe Goodstone, Hanah Leventhal, Demi Otis, Kayla Sorensen, Christine Ramirez, and Siobhan Esposito.

Additionally, six North Shore High School students participated in the All-State Music Festival. Congratulations go out to Siobhan Esposito, Zoe Goodstone, Hanah Leventhal, Elizabeth Oswald, Christine Ramirez, and Kayla Sorensen. The annual festival, sponsored by the New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA), is considered the highest honor a school musician can attain. In order to be accepted a musician must receive a perfect score in a formal audition performance, requiring preparation and performance of a level six (most difficult) solo, a sight-reading exam, and performance of thirteen scales. Over six thousand high school sophomores and juniors audition for All-State each year and only eight hundred are accepted statewide.

Many thanks to all of the North Shore School District music teachers who work tirelessly to teach and assist our music students in their pursuit of their musical aspirations. Congratulations to all!

Article and photo by Shelly Newman

North Shore Schools 112 Franklin Avenue Sea Cliff, NY 11579 District Number 516-277-7800
All Rights Reserved 2000-2018