Congratulations North Shore Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society Inductees

a large group of students posing for picture

Congratulations go out to the North Shore students who were inducted into the first annual Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society on October 25, 2018. Mu Alpha Theta is the National High School and Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society with over 100,000 student members in more than 2100 schools. It is dedicated to inspiring keen interest in mathematics, developing strong scholarship in the subject, and promoting the enjoyment of mathematics in high school and two-year college students.

Congratulations go out to the following North Shore High School students on this high achievement:
Izzy Lerman, Luke Kenny, Krishna Arya, Gabriella Scott, Giovanna Graziosi, Jenna Cuevo, Lauren Belanger, Haley Waiknis, Ryan Wezwick, Adriana Ralidis-Sanchez, Lucia Martin, Caroline Baptista, Sophia Kraupner, Sofia Perez, Sophie Blumenthal, Suhana Singh, Maddy DePietro, Bridget Lewis, Dylan Hoell, Derrick Korponay, Patrick Sullivan, Matt Saltzman, Oliver Palone, Olivia Schatz, Cristina D’Amico, Chloe Johnson, Wenni Fan, Jane Sturge, Adrian Ortiz, Patrick Witek, Alyssa Hartman, Esme Reilly, Kyra McCreery, Thomas Burteind, Zain Pastula, Miranda Kianka, John Labbate, Jennifer Walton, Sophia Fleming, Sarah Moughal, Richie Sun, Noelle Pappas, Sam Rosencrans, Christina Forsander, Sara Rush, Mckenzie Johanson, Nate Loring, Camille Giertl, Alexa Grayson, Kira Potapov, Madelaine Rojas, Grace Long, Stephen Grabher, Carolyn Doyle, Annette Pietraru, Keaton Danseglio, Julia Vineis, Claudia Scala, Jia Wei Hao, Jade Diaz, Dhruv Gondhi, Scott Lenny, Kate Weseley-Jones, Kayla Sorenson, Christine Ramirez, Carson Paradis, Emma Morley, Lou Scerrone, Madelyn Rivera, Meaghan Hoffman, Andrea Liotta, Andrew Gerard, Joseph Franco, Sam Scordo, Irene Zachariadis.

Members of the Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society include high school students in grades 9 through 12. They have completed the equivalent of two years of college preparatory mathematics. This includes algebra and/or geometry, and in addition have completed or are enrolled in a still more advanced course. Additionally, students are eligible for membership providing their mathematical work achieved at least a 90 grade point average in the previous year’s math class. 

Congratulations to all of the North Shore math students and their teachers including Mr. Wankel and Math Department Teacher Leader Ms. Nicole Masiello who orchestrated the ceremony.

Article written with assistance from Mr. Wankel and information from the Mu Alpha Theta membership application. Photos by Shelly Newman

North Shore Schools 112 Franklin Avenue Sea Cliff, NY 11579 District Number 516-277-7800
All Rights Reserved 2000-2019