Wrestlers Conference

North Shore Wrestlers Are Conference Champions for the Second Consecutive Year

Congratulations go out to the North Shore Varsity Wrestlers who succeeded at securing the Conference Championship! This is North Shores’ second consecutive Conference Championship, a feat that was last accomplished 30 years ago in 1987 & 1988.

On January 9, 2019, #1 ranked North Shore hosted #2 ranked Lynbrook for the battle to determine the Conference Championship. Both teams came in undefeated in the various conference matches. After falling behind 18-0 the Vikings started their comeback with pins by freshman Gavin Gross, junior Antonio George, and sophomore Phil D'Amico to tie the score. Following these matches, the Viking seniors dominated the mats beginning with Dan Costello winning 5-3, and then pins by Mike DerGarabedian, Mike Bianchi, Steve Grabher, and a decisive final 15-9 win by Chris Milo. It was an exciting night as North Shore successfully won the match 54-27.

Additionally, the North Shore team honored nine graduating seniors and their parents. Best of luck and THANK YOU to the following seniors: Dan Costello, Mike DerGarabedian, Mike Bianchi, Mike McGrath, Chris Milo, Steve Grabher, Nanek Singh,Tom Passuello and Vin Mercado.

Congratulations go out to all of the wrestlers on their Conference Championship and the coaching staff led by Coach Mike Emmert, Assistant Coach Anthony Facchini, and Junior Varsity Assistant Coach Rich Baierwalter.

Article written by Shelly Newman with assistance from Stephen Grahber
Photos by Solena Milo